Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Property Damage

Quincy MA Driving Offenses and Motor Vehicle Violations Defense Lawyers

Leaving the scene of a car accident defense attorneys, BrocktonIt is a crime to knowingly collide with another car or another person’s personal property and then leave the scene without giving your name, residence and motor vehicle number. You must stop and provide this information even if you did not cause the accident and failure to do so will result in serious penalties. It is not enough just to stop and check on the other parties involved in the accident. The driver must stop even if he believes his identity is known.

In order to prove the offense of leaving the scene of an accident involving property damage the commonwealth will have to show the following beyond a reasonable doubt:

  • The defendant operated of a motor vehicle;
  • The defendant did so on a way, or place which the public has a right of access, or any place to where members of the public have access as invitees or licensees;
  • While operating a motor vehicle defendant’s vehicle collided with another vehicle or personal property;
  • The defendant knew he collided with or otherwise caused damage to another’s vehicle or personal property;
  • The defendant did not stop after the accident and give his or her name, address and registration number.

 Criminal Penalties For Leaving The Scene Of Property Damage

A minimum fine of $20 but no more than $200 or imprisonment for a minimum of two weeks but not more than 2 1.2 years.

Charged with Leaving The Scene Of  An Accident That Caused Property Damage?  Talk With An Experienced Quincy Motor Vehicle Offense Attorney For Free

Leaving the scene of an accident involving damage to property is a serious offense that can leave a stain on your driving and criminal record.  We can help you fight charges or have them reduced so that you can maintain your driving privileges.

No matter where you are located, we are just a phone call away. Call us to schedule a free no-obligation case review and consultation at (508) 584-6955 and you will have taken your first step to find out how best to confront this important matter. You can also click here to use our Free Case Evaluation Form.

Our knowledgeable and experienced Massachusetts driving violations and motor vehicle defense attorneys are available to assist clients throughout all of Massachusetts, including but not limited to Plymouth County including Brockton, Plymouth, Bridgewater, Hingham, Wareham, Middleboro; Norfolk County including Quincy, Stoughton, Dedham, Weymouth, Braintree, Randolph, Canton, Sharon, Brookline, Franklin; Bristol County including New Bedford, Fall River, Taunton, Wrentham, Attleboro, Mansfield, Easton, Raynham; and Middlesex County including Cambridge, Lowell, Somerville, Newton, Woburn, Framingham, Malden, Chelsea, Everett, Arlington, Medford and Waltham; Cape Cod, Barnstable, Falmouth and Worcester; Essex County including Lynn, Lawrence and Salem; and the Greater Boston area including South Boston, Revere, Dorchester and Roxbury.